India, stands at the helm of a new wave of socio-economic growth. To achieve its development goals and milestones, it needs to leverage the Fourth Industrial Revolution, powered by Location Data, in order to transform the lives of 135 crore people that inhabit our country through technological disruptions cutting across all walks of life.

With a vision to advance the adoption of geospatial information and technologies and to provide a roadmap to the Government of India on how to leverage from it, Geospatial Media and Communications set up a non-executive National Think Tank on Geospatial Strategy for New India from 2019-2022. The Think Tank comprises of visionary leaders and credible professionals representing the public sector, academic institutions, primary user departments and industry on a voluntary basis.

In December 2019, the Think Tank brought out the report on "Geospatial Strategy for a New India", which was presented to the highest officials in the country. However, with the advent of COVID-19 pandemic and related lockdown, the Think Tank once again came together to discuss how best the geospatial ecosystem can play a pivotal role in supporting the government in the rehabilitation of economy and society. The Think Tank is now revisiting the strategy to align the same with our country's priority post-COVID-19 crisis.

A S Kiran Kumar Chair
Padma Shri Kiran Kumar

Former Chairman India Space Research Organisation

Sanjay Kumar Convenor
Sanjay Kumar

Geospatial Media & Communications


Lt Gen Ajay Chandele PVSM, AVSM (Retd)

President Defence, Internal & Public Safety
Geospatial Media

Dr. Shailesh Nayak

National Institute of Advanced Studies

Vinit Goenka

Member-Governing Council
CRIS Ministry of Railways

Agendra Kumar

Esri India

Kamal Kishore

National Disaster Management Authority

Shambhu Singh

Former Special Secretary & Financial Adviser
Ministry of Road Transport & Highways

Dr. K J Ramesh

Former Director General
India Meteorological Department

Jagdeesh Rao

Chief Executive
Foundation for Ecological Security

Dr. V K Dadhwal

Indian Institute of Space Science & Technology

Subhash Ashutosh

Director General
Forest Survey of India

Anoop Singh

Government of Andhra Pradesh

Raj Alla

IIC Technology

Pramod Kaushik

President & Managing Director Hexagon AB

Srinibas Patnaik

Senior Director
South Asia, Maxa

Rajan Aiyer

Managing Director
Trimble India

Kaushik Chakraborty

Vice President SE Asia & India
Bentley Systems

Nikhil Kumar

Country Head
HERE Technologies

Dr. Raj Kumar Khatari

Additional Chief Secretary
Govt of Karnataka

O P Agarwal

World Resources Institute India

Pratima Joshi

Founder and CEO
Shelter Associates

Vishnu Chandra

Deputy Director General

Dr. Debpriya Dutta

Department of Science and Technology

Dr. P G Diwakar

Director EOS
Indian Space Research Organisation

Rakesh Verma

Chairman & Managing Director
MapmyIndia and Chair FICCI Geospatial Committee, India

Sajid Mujhtar Ansari

Managing Director
Roter Group of Companies

Hukum Singh Meena

Joint Secretary
Department of Land Resources
Government of India


Lt. Gen. Girish Kumar
Lt. Gen. Girish Kumar, VSM

Surveyor General
Survey of India

Lt. Gen. Rajesh Pant (Retd.) PVSM, AVSM, VSM

National Cyber Security Coordinator

Amit Gosh

Joint Secretary
Ministry of Road Transport and Highways

Aswini Ekela


Dr. MK Munshi

OGC India Forum

Sumeet Gupta

Assistant Secretary General
Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry

Dr. Akhilesh Gupta

Head Policy Research Cell & Advisor
Department of Science and Technology India